Crass

fraternity

He had blue eyes
that I could spot even before the ensign
He loved Bukowski, Kerouac, and Thompson
Music, art, and culture
“If you talk,” they said, “you’ll be charged.”
UCMJ Article 15 Fraternization
But we talked anyway
And when the rounds came down range,
I was hit, down and out
He ran over to me as I bled out
and sang Black Velvet Band.
The enemy closed in.
“Kill me,” he said, “I won’t live without her.”
But I rose up my rifle with my last breath
And I shot the fuckers dead.
He picked me up, and got us the hell outta there.
I survived with his love.
Yet, when we got back to the states,
they still separated us….
Even though we fought and survived together
Even though we loved eachother…..
But we still fucked in the conference room anyway.
It was not fraternization, but fraternity.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Crass

  1. I guess it is true what they say, “All is fair in love and war.” 🙂

Leave a Reply

