The Man Who Drew the Picture

Image
Deep in the heart of Los Angeles,
there was a man who wore a worn grey hat,
and a green ripped up jacket
the grey beard on his face covered the highway blues
his eyes were red, bloodshot, torn.
He looked at me with a genuine, crooked smile and said,
“You are beautiful, may I draw you?”
as he pulled out his sole possession:
the paper and pen.
When the portrait was finished, my first thought was,
“Man, that is a beautiful picture.”
I said to the artist, “This is great, man but I ain’t got any money.”
He smiled, and touched my shoulder.
“It is a gift! From me to you!”
Then he wandered off,
and I never saw the artist again.
I kept the picture, and would look at it from time to time
to remember who I was.

69 Comments

Filed under Poetry Present

69 responses to “The Man Who Drew the Picture

  1. krissnp

    well done.

  2. It’s been a while since I have last been to LA but I can totally picture the scene. Some years ago I met this unkempt Czech who was ridiculously talented. He sprayed pictures with such a passion that I bought one of him for a very decent price yet he refused to take more than what he thought to be enough. 🙂
    Keep up the good writing!
    Best greetz from Germany
    ARC

  3. this is an awesome piece….thanks for sharing.

  4. This is a nice site. I like the great diversity and sincerity. Regards.

  5. Ajaytao2010

    Nice reading about you
    Thanks for visiting my blog. Be in touch. Browse through the category sections, I feel you may find something of your interest.

    Please visit my new blog if possible, hope you like it 🙂
    http://ajaytaobotanicalblog.wordpress.com/
    thank you so much dear 🙂

  6. Reblogged this on Get in John's Head and commented:
    Awesome poem! Reblogging 🙂

  7. WOW! I love your last sentence as well. “To remember who I was”. What a beautiful way to say something that holds so much truth and weight in our lives. If only we could all take a moment and hold onto who we are in a moment maybe we could see all the wonderful ways we grow and change every day and every second.

  8. Beautiful and inspirational words! Thank you!

  9. Ngwe-Nwi Claudette

    Hi cassandra. Great poem you put up here. Thanks for the follow. I will be looking out for your upcoming post. cheers.

  10. This was so genuine and beautiful – tugged at my heart! It reflects all that we seem to be losing in the world – love, compassion, empathy and humanity itself. Thank you for this. And thank you for the follow and helping me discover you 🙂

  11. eric keys

    Reblogged this on Eric Keys.

  12. jinnijocreations

    Truly beautiful. Thanks for following me, I would like to follow you too. Lovely writing. Xx

  13. So often, we need alter images to remind us of who we are – how others view us is another version of ourselves we can chose to accept or deny – we find peace in the glorious versions and despair in the unkind reviews. Your words here are lovely and perfect. Your prose sum up the heart of the artist’s soul as well as the human heart in all its frailties…
    AnnMarie 🙂

  14. Wow!! Great reminder of our humanity and gifts others can bring in our life.

  15. Loved this! Absolutely following. Last line will stick with me. Great job!

  16. Cai

    Touching ending. Made my eyes steamy

  17. Thought provoking piece with an appreciated length 🙂

Leave a Reply

